Let's learn to see beyond our own glass bubbles. We live in a world with about 7,177,568,766 unique individuals who have as much right to love and respect as you do. Open. Your. Mind.

Beautiful – Part Two


This is the second post of a three part series about my student Shayla who shaved her head a few weeks ago to raise awareness and funding for childhood cancer.  Be certain to read the first post, if you haven’t already.

Shayla before and after

Putting your love into action … now that’s beautiful!

Here, Shayla describes her experiences the day of the big head-shaving event:

March 15th, the day I actually got my head shaved, I can honestly say I was on a roller coaster ride of emotions – excited, nervous, anxious, scared of what my head shape would be like, worried about if I could pull it off, and curious as to what people would say to me!

To keep the traffic moving, each “shavee” was given a time to be in the chair to have their head shaved. My time was 2:50 p.m. The event was from 10am to 3pm – so this gave my mind lots of time to wonder! 

For the most part, I felt pretty calm and at peace since this is something I had always wanted to do. It wasn’t until the hour and a half before (I know the time because I remember being at a store in Columbus stalling time and glancing at my phone from the several calls/texts from friends and family reminding me, “Today is the big day”) that I began to feel butterflies in my stomach and really feel anxious.

Fast forward to that evening – there was a Fellowship Dinner my parents and I attended for a ministry on campus in which I am involved, and will be working for after graduation. The first few people who had the chance to witness my sudden change were, fortunately for me, a bunch of encouraging Christians who made me really feel comfortable with my decision.

I think that night gave me the confidence I needed from then on.

To be continued in Beautiful – Part 3….

Comments on: "Beautiful – Part Two" (1)

  1. […] to gain funds and awareness for Childhood Cancer.  If you missed them, you can read Part 1  and  Part 2 here for the back […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

