Let's learn to see beyond our own glass bubbles. We live in a world with about 7,177,568,766 unique individuals who have as much right to love and respect as you do. Open. Your. Mind.

Beginnings and Endings


The sun shines bright, but there is an unmistakable nip to the air in the mornings.  There are leaves, brown and tired, littering our yard…..the first of many to depart.  Before long we will be wading ankle-deep through a carpet of tree-shed in reds, greens, browns and golds.

back-to-school pencils

School has been in session a couple of weeks now for our children.  It’s a tough time for the boys, transitioning from summer freedom to rigid routine.  It can be a real strain on Eli but he seems to be off to a good start.

I emailed the teachers at the start of the year, reaching out to them as I always do to let them know we’re all in this together and if there are problems, we will do anything and everything we can to help make it better.  Eli has improved so very much over the past few years, but there are still times when he can make the classroom environment difficult.  Knowing that there will be consequences at home as well helps him make better choices at times…and knowing that his parents and teachers communicate on a regular basis helps as well.

Eli has been insisting on going to bed around 8:30 p.m. each night…he’s wiped out.  I’m proud of him for recognizing that he’s tired and just deciding to sleep.  I’ve been trying to get to bed a bit earlier as well, and I do notice a difference in how I feel the next day.

Ash is doing a great job keeping up with his heavy work load at school…utilizing his study hall well and accomplishing Homework 3much of his work there.  He’s starting his new job this coming weekend:  Event Parking for the local university’s football games.  He will be putting in some loooooong days, but he’s excited to earn his own money and be employed.  Ash continues to have great passion with his music;  singing in a band, getting better and better on guitar and learning piano.

I’m taking baby steps to change our eating habits.  I’m purchasing less processed foods and trying to get us moving more toward real foods.  I’ve insisted on changing out Eli’s regular cereals for honey nut cheerios.  They still aren’t awesome, but a big improvement over what he has been eating.  He’s doing okay with that change, but resisting some of the other food replacements.  We’ll get there, but it’s going to be a journey filled with small progresses & victories, and lots of resistance 7 back-sliding.  That’s okay…we’re used to that.  It’s what we do.  We just take little steps and we will get there eventually.  One. Baby. Step. At. A. Time.

New beginnings.

I do see a bit of a change in Eli since changing his cereal.  I can’t verbalize what the change is, exactly, but it’s there.  And it’s enough to motivate me to continue.

The only thing that stays the same is change.

The last year has been riddled with change.  Two significant deaths which have left huge holes in my life.  The loss of one church family, but the gain of another, better church who are sure to become family —  it takes time to build those relationships.

Finding the strength to stand firm in my beliefs during controversy, and being solid enough in my faith to know when to walk away from people whom I love dearly, because I knew which path was healthy and where God would have me be.  It was a true test of whether or not I was listening to Him.  And I learned that doing the Right Thing is rarely the Easy Thing.  I have also learned that the most difficult seasons of life are often followed by great joy and a reaffirmation that God really does know what He’s doing!

So many other Endings.  So many other New Beginnings.  This is the last year Eli will be in elementary school.  It scares me but not like it once did.  I see how he’s changed.  Matured and learned and improved.  I wonder if I too am capable of changing that much in a year’s time?  I wonder if I too could improve as much as he has?  Endings can be blessings.  Beginnings can be joyful.

Embrace your changes.  startfinish

We you learn to, the fear will turn to anticipation.

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings" (1)

  1. You young lady are, OUR HERO!
    Respectfully submitted,
    A PROUD HUMAN BEING!
    Sent along with LOVE!

    Joe Rogers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

